Author Topic: Old photos of a Norton International  (Read 12282 times)

Offline Dave2006

• Advanced Member
    • View Profile
    • Email
Old photos of a Norton International
« on: April 16, 2012, 09:47:41 PM »
Unfortunately my father in law Donald Whitehead died earlier this year - after 89 happy years of being a petrol head. He flew in the RAF during the second world war, after the war he raced bikes, then cars and later go carts. A pilot and engineer by trade he spent his career working in the motor industry.

He often spoke fondly of his Norton International - you don't see many exhausts like that! According to the notes on the back of the picture this bike, 'Bigga Banga', posted the second fastest time of the day at the Brighton Speed Trials in 1946.

I took him out on the back of my Honda VFR 800 a couple of years back (when he was well into his 80s) to see what he thought of modern bikes - he was impressed with the handling, the cornering and the brakes. I asked him if he was scared at any stage with the speed and the power - it was then that he reminded me that he used to fly Spitfires for a living and had been shot at by the Luftwaffe  8)

Hope you enjoy the photos

Dave
« Last Edit: April 20, 2012, 12:04:37 PM by Dave2006 »

Offline RichP

• Advanced Member
  • I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
    • View Profile
Re: Old photos of a Norton International
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2012, 10:21:59 PM »
Nice photos, Dave. The large capacity fuel tank is quite special. Do you have any further info on the bike ?

The registration HV7778 was issued by East Ham between 1929 and 1938 so it doesn't pin things down much. The survival rate of Internationals is quite good but the number doesn't come up on the DVLA register. Many have though been sold abroad or are no longer road registered.

Offline R

• Advanced Member
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2012, 11:06:05 AM »